Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Faculty of Biology, Chemistry & Earth Sciences

Department of Geography

Print page
Geogr_Verantwortung_engl-1

Research

The research profile of the Department of Geography is quite varied thanks to the broad range of professorships it includes.

The work of the various research groups in the Department of Geography combines their shared claim to exploring spatial processes from a social/cultural, scientific, and didactic perspective in order to remain supported and guided by a sense of responsibility and reflection of one's own actions. Our meta-concept "Design - Space - Responsibility" merges into five dimensions of geographical work.

Interculturality & MigrationHide

Migration Processes

investigates the Political Geography working group from both a socio-geographical (networks, migration systems) and a politico-geographical perspective (flight, conflicts, involuntary immobility). A project funded by Germany's Federal Ministry of Education and Research "Climate Change, Environmental Changes and Migration - Social-Ecological Conditions of Population Movements: The Example of the Sahelian Countries Mali and Senegal" was recently completed in cooperation with the  Climatology working group.

Interculturality & Migration

focuses on the Development Studies in Geography working group in the context of Africa based on urban mobility and housing finance in informal settlements in Tanzania as well as in Germany by way of regular study projects (teaching research). Applied research in the context of development emphasizes responsible interaction between people, society, and the environment.

Historical Geography

of German refugees and "expellees" from Eastern Europe after the Second World War represents a new research perspective of the Cultural Geography working group.  Another project investigates the migration experiences of Latin American transgender persons in Europe. Topics of interculturality - "travelling ideas" and transcultural scientific discourses - are also taken into consideration both practically (translations) and theoretically.

Possibilities & Limits

One subject of research in the Social Geography working group involves the possibilities and limits to understanding foreign cultural contexts in Latin America and Africa in a metatheoretical perspective of practical intercultural hermeneutics. The key here is to reconstructively understand and interpret the contextual situation and logic of foreign cultural life worlds: A fundamental act of understanding all geographical development research in the Global South, which requires intensive reflection work.

Transformation & DevelopmentHide

Applied questions regarding development problems

The Development Studies in Geography working group addresses applied questions concerning development problems in sub-Saharan Africa and the associated effects on Europe. The emphasis is on applied urban and urbanization research - in particular in the investigation of living space and housing environment research - and in the areas of rural-city migration, issues of urban and regional governance, and in rural regional development, particularly under the influence of globalization. Current research projects deal with land use changes, conflicts caused by land competition, and land grabbing in East Africa, as well as changing local food culture habits under the influence of globalization in Ethiopia and local economic development strategies in Ghana. Food supply and life security, e.g. through microcredits and strategies in the context of vulnerability, as well as the latest research on the perception and governance of waste, have an impact on human-environment interaction and the spatial order in large cities and mid-sized cities.

The investigation of development problems and potentials

The focus of the Urban and Regional Development working group is on the investigation of development problems and potentials for the transformation to sustainability in cities and regions. In doing so, far-reaching social challenges such as demographic change, structural change towards a service and knowledge economy, or the energy transition are made the starting point of the investigations. The aim of the research is to analyse what enables and inhibits sustainability-oriented transformation processes, how they can be designed and scientifically supported. The implementation of concrete projects is evaluated by accompanying scientific research. Current research projects include The significance of lifelong learning for regional development, the role of universities as regional stakeholders, institutional adaptation strategies to demographic change, the evaluation of measures to protect biodiversity, the spatial planning issue of the equivalence of living conditions, or municipal and intercommunal strategies to increase the resilience of rural areas.

Demographic Change

The Economic Geography working group focuses on demographic change. This includes economic development in stagnation and shrinking regions, adaptation strategies of regionally anchored companies to demographic change, new forms of user-producer relations, and rural enterpreneurship. Other focal points are industrial restructuring at the regional and global level, institutions and their role in business development, and European border region research. In addition, there is interest in new forms of housing in the context of urban development  and regional development with a focus on Northern Europe (Scandinavia) and Central Eastern Europe.

Social and socio-theoretical approaches

The research activities carried out by the Social Geography working group centre on social and socio-theoretical approaches to urban and rural areas in the field of governance research. The European SELFCITY project on self-organisation processes in the context of climate change is currently being coordinated by the Chair. The aim of the transnational cooperation with Great Britain and the Netherlands is to study collectivization processes in urban and rural areas for the sustainable change of consumerist lifestyles, including "low-carbon communities" in Europe.

Natural processes & interactions between society and the environmentHide

The emergence of surface forms

The Geomorphology working group investigates how the earth's surface forms emerged. This is reconstructed on the basis of relic forms, deposits, and findings of modern geology and neighbouring sciences. The temporal dimension of environmental change and its quality are in the foreground. In the Quaternary (ice age) as the most recent period in the history of the earth, human beings enter the stage and increasingly influence their environment, especially in the post-glacial period, an environment which itself is also exposed to strong natural changes. The geoarchaeological reconstruction of early human environments and the interactions with human cultures from the Palaeolithic to the present is one focus of geomorphologists in Bayreuth. Particular emphasis is placed on the use of novel physical methods for age determination such as luminescence  and magnetic dating, but also on high-resolution remote sensing methods. The regional focus is on geo-archives in Europe and young volcanism in Central Europe.

Translation processes of political-technological regulatory approaches

The Political Geography working group focuses on translation processes of political-technological regulatory approaches in the Global South. How do knowledge complexes revolve around political-technological regulation in the relationship between decision-makers from different contexts, how are they translated, and how do these translations materialize? Theoretical considerations of the relationship between relational and territorial geographies are also of importance in this connection. A new research field has also emerged: energy complexes in the Global South.

Climate Ecology

Climate ecology, which illuminates the interface between atmosphere and (anthropogenically influenced) ecosystems on the landscape scale, is the focus of the Climatology working group. Through the combined use of ground and satellite-based remote sensing, in-situ measurements and numerical modelling, the work represents a link between the applications of global climate research and the approaches in functional biodiversity and ecosystem research. Of central importance to the research, which mainly focuses on sub-Saharan Africa and Central Asia, is the anthropogenic influence on environmental changes. The emphasis here is on the use of resources, for example through grazing and wood extraction, but also on the management of ecosystems by the population.

The investigation of the heterogeneity of natural rock bodies

One research focus of the Geology working group is the investigation of the heterogeneity of natural rock bodies and their effects on natural processes (e.g. groundwater flow) as well as on the stability of historical buildings. Heterogeneity in rock bodies can be caused both by processes during formation (sediment facies, hydrodynamic conditions, sediment supply, etc.) and by post-depositional processes (tectonics, diagenesis, etc.). In both cases, this leads to changes in the lateral continuity of the rock and thus to a heterogeneous distribution of the rock’s physical properties such as hydraulic permeability or rock compressibility. Methods of near-surface geophysics are used to indirectly determine the required information about the heterogeneous structure of the rock body (geo-radar, tomographic geoelectrics, self-potential measurements, refraction seismics, sonar, and magnetometry).

Spatial Patterns

spatial patterns in the spread of species, biotic communities, and ecosystems are one area of emphasis of the Biogeography working group. These are related to social problems and challenges, for example in the fields of healthcare, nature conservation, forestry, and agriculture. Much of the research carried out by Bayreuth's Biogeography working group deals with the ecological effects of climate change. These are investigated with methods of field research, with experiments, with models, and by evaluating large data sets.

Spatial Order & TerritorialityHide

Borders, Territory & Territoriality

Borders, Territory & Territoriality represents an important research focus of the Political Geography working group, because territories are not simply there, not given, but must be produced and maintained: It is "territorialization work" that takes place through social and technical practices and the establishment of discourses; territories are thus also effects and production achievements of state practice.

Border demarcation and borderwork policy

This is the focus of the Cultural Geography working group's research perspective, whether in the context of the sovereignty of European borders in connection with transgender identity or cultural transformations and cooperations at the border regions between Germany, Poland, Ukraine, and the Czech Republic. At the same time, the working group is developing an interest in spatial power relations from three new perspectives: First, it involves an investigation of the performance of spatial orders as a political economy of attention as well as in a study on Washington DC as a disenfranchised territorial exception. Secondly, the topic of identity and power also comes to bear on the historical-geographical focus on the relationship between gender roles, public space, and coin-operated machines in the 20th century. Third, it addresses the development of non-liberal forms of power in post-colonial Brazil.

Teaching/learning researchHide

The foundations of geographical teaching and learning

The foundations of geographical teaching and learning and the development of concepts of subject-related teaching and learning in the areas of "spatial orientation", "intercultural learning", and "student ideas" are the main research areas of the Didactics of Geography working group. Various research projects are being investigated with eyetracking methods.

Geo-E-Log

is a teaching project recently developed and launched by the  Social Geography research group. This is a virtual logbook designed for the preparation, implementation, and follow-up of student excursions and includes various multimedia visualizations.


Webmaster: Jasmin Samimi

Facebook Instagram UBT-A

Druckansicht der Internetadresse:

Fakultät für Biologie, Chemie und Geowissenschaften

Geographisches Institut

Seite drucken

Forschung

Das Forschungsprofil des Geographischen Instituts ist entsprechend der breiten Ausstattung mit Professuren sehr vielfältig.

Die Forschungen der verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen am Geographischen Institut verbinden sich in ihrem geteilten Anspruch raumbezogene Prozesse in sozial-/kulturwissenschaftlicher, naturwissenschaftlicher und didaktischer Perspektive zu erforschen, um dabei immer auch von einem Verantwortungs- und Reflexionsbewusstsein des eigenen Tuns getragen und geleitet zu sein. Unser erarbeitetes Metakonzept „Gestaltung – Raum – Verantwortung“ geht dabei in fünf Dimensionen geographischen Arbeitens auf.

Interkulturalität & MigrationEinklappen

Migrationsprozesse

untersucht die AG Politische Geographie aus sozialgeographischer (Netzwerke, Migrationssysteme) und politisch-geographischer Perspektive (Flucht, Konflikte, unfreiwillige Immobilität). Unlängst ist hierzu ein BMBF-Projekt „Klimawandel, Umweltveränderungen und Migration: sozial-ökologische Bedingungen von Bevölkerungsbewegungen am Beispiel der Sahelländer Mali und Senegal“ in Zusammenarbeit mit der AG Klimatologie abgeschlossen worden.

Interkulturalität & Migration

fokussiert die AG Geographische Entwicklungsforschung sowohl im afrikanischen Kontext anhand urbaner Mobilität und Wohnraumfinanzierung in informellen Siedlungen in Tansania als auch in Deutschland mittels regelmäßiger Studienprojekte (Lehrforschung). Gerade als angewandte Forschung im Entwicklungskontext wird ein verantwortungsbewusster Umgang zwischen Mensch, Gesellschaft und Umwelt betont.

AG Wirtschaftsgeographie

Sie beschäftigt sich mit Migration, Rückwanderung und Regionalentwicklung zumeist im regionalen Kontext des Grenzraumes Oberfranken und Thüringen.

Die historische Geographie

der deutschen Flüchtlinge sowie "expellees" aus Osteuropa nach dem 2. Weltkrieg greift eine neue Forschungsperspektive der AG Kulturgeographie auf. Ein weiteres Projekt untersucht die Migrationserfahrungen lateinamerikanischer Trans*-Personen in Europa. Auch Themen der Interkulturalität – „travelling ideas“ und transkulturelle wissenschaftliche Diskurse - werden sowohl praktisch (Übersetzungen) als auch theoretisch in den Blick genommen.

Möglichkeiten und Grenzen

des Verstehens fremdkultureller Kontexte in Lateinamerika und Afrika in einer metatheoretischen Perspektive praktischer interkultureller Hermeneutik sind Forschungsgegenstand der AG Sozialgeographie. Zentral ist hierbei, die fremdkulturellen Lebenswelten in ihrer kontextuellen Situiertheit und Sinnlogik rekonstruktiv zu verstehen und zu interpretieren: Ein grundlegender Verstehensakt jeglicher geographischer Entwicklungsforschung im Globalen Süden, der intensiver Reflexionsarbeit  bedarf.

Transformation & Entwicklung
Einklappen

Angewandten Fragen zu Entwicklungsproblemen

in Afrika südlich der Sahara und den damit verbundenen Auswirkungen auch auf Europa sind ein Beschäftigungsfeld der AG Geographische Entwicklungsforschung. Die thematischen Schwerpunkte liegen in der angewandten Stadt- und Urbanisierungsforschung – hier insbesondere in der Untersuchung der Wohnraumfrage sowie Wohnumfeldforschung – und in den Bereichen der Land-Stadt-Migration, Fragen der Governance von Städten und Regionen, sowie in der ländlichen Regionalentwicklung insbesondere unter dem Einfluss der Globalisierung. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich mit Landnutzungsänderungen, Konflikten durch Flächenkonkurrenz und „land grabbing“ in Ostafrika sowie sich verändernden, lokalen Essenskulturgewohnheiten unter dem Einfluss der Globalisierung in Äthiopien und „Local Economic Development Strategies“ in Ghana. Ernährungsversorgung und Lebenssicherung z.B. durch Mikrokredite und Strategien im Verwundbarkeitskontext  sowie neueste Forschungen zu Perzeption und Governance von Abfall wirken sich auf Mensch-Umwelt-Interaktion sowie die räumliche Ordnung in Großstädten ebenso wie in Mittelstädten (mid-sized cities) aus.

Auf der Untersuchung von Entwicklungsproblemen und -potenzialen

für die Transformation zur Nachhaltigkeit in Städten und Regionen liegt der Schwerpunkt der AG Stadt- und Regionalentwicklung. Dabei werden tiefgreifende gesellschaftliche Herausforderungen wie der demografische Wandel, der Strukturwandel zu einer Dienstleistungs- und Wissensökonomie oder die Energiewende zum Ausgangspunkt der Untersuchungen gemacht. Ziel der Forschung ist es zu analysieren, was nachhaltigkeitsorientierte Transformationsprozesse ermöglicht und hemmt, wie sie gestaltet und wissenschaftlich begleitet werden können. Die Umsetzung von konkreten Projekten wird durch wissenschaftliche Begleitforschung evaluiert. Aktuelle Forschungsprojekte beschäftigen sich zum Beispiel mit der Bedeutung akademischer Weiterbildung für die Regionalentwicklung, der Rolle von Hochschulen als regionalen Akteuren, institutionellen Anpassungsstrategien an den demographischen Wandel, der Evaluation von Maßnahmen zum Schutz der Biodiversität, der raumplanerisch bedeutsamen Frage nach der Gleichwertigkeit von Lebensverhältnissen oder kommunalen und interkommunalen Strategien zur Steigerung der Resilienz ländlicher Räume.

Der demographische Wandel

ist der Forschungsschwerpunkt der AG Wirtschaftsgeographie. Hierunter fallen Wirtschaftsentwicklung in Stagnations- und Schrumpfungsregionen, Anpassungsstrategien regional verankerter Unternehmen an den demographischen Wandel, neue Formen der Nutzer-Produzenten-Beziehungen und ‚rural enterpreneurship‘. Weitere Schwerpunkte sind industrielle Restrukturierungen auf regionaler und globaler Ebene, Institutionen und ihre Rolle für die Unternehmensentwicklung sowie europäische Grenzraumforschung. Darüber hinaus gilt das Interesse neuen Wohnformen im Kontext der Stadtentwicklung und der Regionalentwicklung mit Schwerpunkt Nordeuropa (Skandinavien) und Mittelosteuropa.

Gesellschafts- und sozialtheoretische Zugänge

zum städtischen und ländlichen Raum im Bereich der Governance-Forschung stehen im Zentrum der Forschungsaktivität der AG Sozialgeographie stehen. Derzeit wird das  europäische Projekt SELFCITY zu Selbstorganisationsprozessen im Kontext des Klimawandels am Lehrstuhl koordiniert. Ziel der transnationalen Kooperation mit Großbritannien und den Niederlanden ist die Erforschung von Kollektivierungsprozessen in urbanen und ruralen Räumen zur nachhaltigen Veränderung konsumeristischer Lebensformen hin zu „low-carbon communities“ in Europa.

Natürliche Prozesse & Gesellschaft-Umwelt-Interaktion
Einklappen

Die Entstehung der Oberflächenformen

der Erde ist der Forschungsschwerpunkt der AG Geomorphologie. Diese wird anhand reliktischer Formen, Ablagerungen und Erkenntnissen der modernen Geologie und ihrer Nachbarwissenschaften rekonstruiert. Die zeitliche Dimension des Umweltwandels sowie seine Qualität stehen hierbei im Vordergrund. Im Quartär (Eiszeitalter) als jüngster Periode der Erdgeschichte tritt der Mensch auf die Bühne und beeinflusst vor allem in der Nacheiszeit zunehmend seine Umwelt, die aber selbst auch starken natürlichen Veränderungen ausgesetzt ist. Die geoarchäologische Rekonstruktion früher Umwelten des Menschen und die Wechselwirkungen mit menschlichen Kulturen von der Altsteinzeit bis zur Gegenwart ist ein Schwerpunkt der Geomorphologie in Bayreuth. Besonderes Gewicht wird auf den Einsatz neuartiger physikalischer Methoden der Altersbestimmung wie Lumineszenz- und Magnetische Datierung, aber auch auf hoch auflösende Fernerkundungsmethoden gelegt. Regional stehen Geoarchive in Europa sowie junger Vulkanismus in Mitteleuropa im Vordergrund.

Übersetzungsprozesse politisch-technologischer Regulationsansätze

im Globalen Süden liegen im Fokus der AG Politische Geographie. Wie reisen Wissenskomplexe um politisch-technologische Regulation in der Beziehung zwischen Entscheidungsträgern aus unterschiedlichen Kontexten, wie werden sie übersetzt und wie materialisieren sich diese Übersetzungen? Theoretische Überlegungen zum Verhältnis von relationalen und territorialen Geographien sind hier auch von Belang. Darüber hinaus entsteht ein neues Forschungsfeld: Energiekomplexe im Globalen Süden.

Klimaökologie

die die Schnittstelle zwischen Atmosphäre und (anthropogen beeinflussten) Ökosystemen auf der Landschaftsskala beleuchtet, steht im Mittelpunkt des Interesses der AG Klimatologie. Durch den kombinierten Einsatz von boden- und satellitengestützter Fernerkundung, in-situ Messungen und nummerischer Modellierung stellen die Arbeiten ein Bindeglied zwischen den Anwendungen der globalen Klimaforschung und den Ansätzen in der funktionellen Biodiversitäts- und ökosystemaren Forschung dar. Von zentraler Bedeutung der Forschungen, die vor allem im subsaharischen Afrika und in Zentralasien verortet sind, ist der anthropogene Einfluss auf Umweltveränderungen. Dabei im Fokus stehen Ressourcennutzung, etwa durch Beweidung und Holzextraktion, aber auch das Management von Ökosystemen durch die Bevölkerung.

Die Untersuchung der Heterogenität natürlicher Gesteinskörper

und deren Auswirkungen sowohl auf natürliche Prozesse (z.B. Grundwasserströmung) als auch auf die Stabilität historischer Bauwerke sind ein Forschungsschwerpunkt der AG Geologie. Heterogenität in Gesteinskörpern kann sowohl durch Prozesse bei der Entstehung (Sedimentfazies, hydrodynamische Bedingungen, Sedimentangebot etc.) als auch durch postdepositionale Prozesse (Tektonik, Diagenese etc.) verursacht werden. In beiden Fällen führt dies zu Veränderungen der lateralen Kontinuität des Gesteins und damit zu einer heterogenen Verteilung gesteinsphysikalischer Eigenschaften wie beispielsweise der hydraulischen Durchlässigkeit oder Gesteinskompressibilität. Es werden Methoden der oberflächennahen Geophysik eingesetzt, mit denen die gesuchte Information über den heterogenen Aufbau des Gesteinskörpers indirekt ermittelt werden (Geo-Radar, tomographische Geoelektrik, Eigenpotential-Messungen, Refraktionsseismik, Sonar und Magnetometrie).

Räumliche Muster

in der Verbreitung von Arten, Lebensgemeinschaften und Ökosystemen liegen im Fokud des Interesses der AG Biogeographie. Diese werden in Bezug zu gesellschaftlichen Problemen und Herausforderungen gebracht, beispielsweise in den Feldern: Gesundheitswesen, Naturschutz, Forstwirtschaft, Landwirtschaft. Ein großer Teil der Forschung in der Bayreuther Biogeographie konzentriert sich auf die ökologischen Auswirkungen des Klimawandels. Diese werden sowohl mit Methoden der Feldforschung, mit Experimenten, mit Modellen und durch die Auswertung großer Datensätze untersucht.

Räumliche Ordnung & Territorialität
Einklappen

Grenzen, Territorium & Territorialität

sind ein wichtiger Forschungsschwerpunkt der AG Politische Geographie, denn Territorien sind nicht einfach da, nicht gegeben, sondern müssen hergestellt und aufrechterhalten werden: Es ist „Territorialisierungs-Arbeit“, die sich mittels sozialer und technischer Praktiken sowie der Etablierung von Diskursen vollzieht; Territorien sind somit auch Effekte und Herstellungsleistungen staatlicher Praxis.

Politik der Grenzziehungen und "borderwork"

daran richtet die AG Kulturgeographie ihre Forschungsperspektive aus, egal ob dies im Kontext der Gouvernmentalität europäischer Grenzen im Zusammenhang mit Transgender-Identität oder kultureller Transformationen und Kooperationen an den Grenzregionen zwischen Deutschland, Polen, der Ukraine und Tschechien geschieht. Zugleich entwickelt die Arbeitsgruppe ein Interesse an räumlichen Machverhältnissen in drei neuen Perspektiven: Erstens in einer Untersuchung der Performanz räumlicher Ordnungen als eine politische Ökonomie der Aufmerksamkeit sowie in einer Studie über Washington DC als entrechtete territoriale Ausnahme. Das Thema Identität und Macht kommt zweitens auch in historisch-geographischer Fokussierung zum Verhältnis zwischen Geschlechterrollen, öffentlichem Raum und Münzautomaten im 20. Jahrhundert zum Tragen. Und drittens geht es um die Herausbildung nicht-liberaler Machtformen im postkolonialen Brasilien.

Lehr-/Lernforschung
Einklappen

Grundlagen geographischen Lehrens und Lernes

und die Entwicklung von Konzepten fachbezogenen Lehrens und Lernens in den Bereichen „Räumliche Orientierung“ „Interkulturelles Lernen“ und „Schülervorstellungen“, das sind die Forschungsschwerpunkte der AG Geographiedidaktik. Verschiedene Forschungsprojekte werden dabei mit Eyetracking-Verfahren untersucht.

Geo-E-Log

ist ein Lehrprojekt, das die AG Sozialgeographie unlängst entwickelt und ins Leben gerufen hat. Es handelt sich hier um ein virtuelles Logbuch das zur Vorbereitung, Durchführung und Nachbereitung von studentischen Exkursionen konzipiert wurde und verschiedene multimediale Visualisierungen umfasst.


Verantwortlich für die Redaktion: Jasmin Samimi

Facebook Instagram